Student Portrait

My name is Amy and I am from Myanmar. I grew up in Kawkareik Township, a remote area in the southeast division of Karen State. My family is made up of eight members, with my parents, three elder brothers, two younger brothers, and myself.

Sadly, I have only spent a few years together with my elder brothers. Civil war and family poverty separated us, and my elders brothers fled to Nu Poe refugee camp in Thailand for safety and education. My parents, younger brothers, and I were left in a small village.

Family business was not good enough to support my brothers’ education; my parents had to work very hard in the firm and in the mountain range. In 2002, my family moved to another village; it was difficult starting a new life in an unfamiliar place.

While I was living in A Zin village with my parents, I worked to contribute to the family income.

I helped my parents sell sugar cane every morning to my classmates and schoolmates. I was happy working with my parents and looking after my younger brothers on the weekends. My parents grew rice in the mountains, and they took other part-time jobs as well. Our family life was very tough, but it taught me how to be strong.

In 2005, I was able to follow my two brothers to study in Nu Poe to solicit further education, and I stayed in the dormitory with many other students. At first, I did not like being around other kids and sharing a bedroom with strangers. Nevertheless, as I made friends and learned new things in a new environment with different perspectives, I started hanging out with them in my free time.

I graduated high school from No. 1 High School in Noh Poe camp, then studied in Pu Dooplaya Junior College (PDJC) for two-and-a-half years. During my time at PDJC, I led school activities as a sports leader and librarian. I was always a great team player and leader; I was able to supervise any school activities with my position in PDJC.

 About Amy

  • Age: 27
  • Ethnicity: Karen, Pa O
  • Country: Myanmar

 School & Program

  • Dhurakij Pundit University International College
  • Bachelor’s, Business Administration
  • 4th Year in Program

Goals & Dreams

  • Become a entrepreneur
  • Earn millions
  • Donate to worthy causes

 Loan Details

  • Loan Amount: $4,925
  • Amount Left To Fund: $2,900
  • Contract Duration: 12 years
  • Status: Prefunded by Zomia
$
$ Added to Basket

Quotable

What Others Are Saying About Amy

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.

In 2014, Minmahaw Higher Education Program (MHEP) set an entrance exam for students who wished to prepare for the General Education Diploma (GED), which is required to study in an international university. I passed the entrance exam and was able to take a GED test in Bangkok in 2015.

After completing a one year program in Mae Sot, I worked as an administrator at MHEP. I delegated different roles to students to be leaders in their field of work. While working, I also did self-study in my office to get into a university and researched my future career. Finally, I discovered that Dhurakij Pundit University had an opportunity for me to get a better job in a multinational company. In order to achieve my goals, I chose to major in the International Business Administration program.

After four years in my program, I plan to work at a multinational company such as Unilever or Procter and Gamble as a first-line manager assistant for at least two years. There I will learn additional skills and build up my credibility in order to advance to the position of first-line office manager in either company. By doing so, I will be able to earn better salaries and start investing in a small business of my own. My long-term goal is to become an entrepreneur who makes millions of dollars and donates a portion to those in need.

By starting larger businesses, I can create more job opportunities and reduce the unemployment rate in my country. In addition, I plan to work with the government to make our country competitive in the international market.

Written by Amy with editing assistance from Esra, one of Zomia’s volunteer editors.

Amy

Amy

“Since I have no physical assets in hand today, I want to have a degree as my asset. I adore investing my time in university.”

Q&A With Amy

Survey Fun

What is your favorite memory?
Playing with my brother in the orchard
How would your friends describe you?
A person with a positive attitude; honest, kind, and hard-working
What is/was your favorite subject in school?
Science because it gives so much knowledge about different living and non-living things
What skill or ability do you most wish you had (but lack today)?
Giving interesting public speeches
Where would you most like to travel?
Victoria Falls in Zambia
What’s the best meal you’ve ever had?
Vietnamese food
What’s your dream job?
To be an entrepreneur

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.