Student Portrait

My name is Blut Doh. I was born into a poor family in Karen State, Myanmar. There are nine members of my family. I have three brothers and three sisters, and I am the second oldest.

I was raised in rural Karen areas until I was five years old and started my early education in Karenni State. Later, I moved away to live with my uncle in order to finish high school in Mae Ra Ma Luang refugee camp in Thailand. After that, I moved to Mae Sot to fulfill my dreams. Throughout my life, I have always had to sacrifice and fight for my education.

Life in the refugee camp was hard because my uncle could not give me enough support since he had to care for his eight children. In addition, my parents were deep in debt. To support myself, I sometimes spent weekends working for Thai villagers. Despite the challenges, I did my best and finished grade 12 with distinction.

When I finished high school, my relatives could no longer support me to continue my studies. They advised me to stop my education and work for the family. I refused to follow their advice and tried to find other ways to continue my education.

Fortunately, I was given a special chance to study at Love and Care Learning Center in Mae Sot. When I studied at Love and Care, my teachers provided me with everything I needed. My friends and teachers loved me because I was clever and helpful to them.

In 2016, I graduated from Love and Care with distinction. After that, I taught in Karen State as a volunteer for several months. The students I taught were around fifteen years old. I taught English grammar as well as basic computer skills such as Microsoft Word, Microsoft Office and PowerPoint.

I also studied at Minmahaw Higher Education Program (MHEP) to earn a General Educational Development (GED) certificate. I learned many things at MHEP such as management skills, leadership skills, and social skills.

 About Blut Doh

  • Age: 22
  • Ethnicity: Karen
  • Country: Myanmar

 School & Program

  • University of the Thai Chamber of Commerce
  • Bachelor’s, International Business Management
  • 3rd Year in Program

Goals & Dreams

  • Become a successful businessman
  • Create job opportunities for people in my community

 Loan Details

  • Loan Amount: $1,625
  • Amount Left To Fund: $1,625
  • Contract Duration: 10 years
  • Status: In School
$
$ Added to Basket

Quotable

What Others Are Saying About Blut Doh

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.

Currently, my family is living in Loikaw, the capital of Karenni State. There are many problems in the community such as inadequate education, poor health care, and economic challenges. Among these, the economic difficulties have had the most disastrous effect.

Causes of the economic problems include the lack of skills in household management and basic skills involving how to do business. According to our section leader, 80% of the people in my community face challenges paying for health care and education. Most of them are in debt. Consequently, many children stop their studies in order to work and support their families.

Some people grow fruits and vegetables, but they cannot make enough money because prices are so low. On the other hand, there is a special mining area in Mawkyi, a part of Karenni State. Many adults in my community go there to work for the owners, but the work is very dangerous.

Even though they know that they work in hazardous conditions, they keep going in order to earn money. Last year, 23 miners, including two of my section mates, died because of a roof collapse in one of the mines. This incident made me realize that my people should stop doing these dangerous jobs and find alternatives. I am eager to become a successful businessman and create job opportunities for them.

The pressures faced by my community led me to study international business management at UTCC, where I am learning many things about business analyses and marketing strategy. My courses will prepare me for doing business analyses, forecasting, and making useful business decisions for my community. I hope to learn more about international business strategy and global marketing.

Moreover, I want to know how societies, governments, businesses, households, and individuals allocate scarce resources. As a university student, I work hard to get good grades. As soon as I earn my degree, I will return to my community and do more research about the economic problems my people face. I will also invite investors who want to set up factories or buy raw materials and fruit from my local people. I hope to provide good opportunities for my people to find employment.

Another goal is to encourage the people in my community to earn money by setting up their own small businesses. Therefore, I have specific and strong plans for my future and am confident I will reach my destination.

Written by Blut Doh with editing assistance from Zomia’s volunteer editors.

Blut Doh

Blut Doh

“If I don’t get a loan from Zomia this year, it will be very difficult for me to continue my studies. Therefore, Zomia may be the solution for me to study without stress, allowing me to focus on school.”

Q&A With Blut Doh

Survey Fun

What is your favorite memory?
Getting first place at Love and Care Learning Centre
How would your friends describe you?
Funny and friendly
What is the one thing that isn’t taught in school but should be?
To be more independent and help other people
What is/was your favorite subject in school?
Maths and Economics
What skill or ability do you most wish you had (but lack today)?
Singing
If you could do anything you wanted now, what would it be?
Change Myanmar so it is not under military control
Where would you most like to travel?
Every refugee camp in the world
What’s the best meal you’ve ever had?
Dinner with my family
Where do you see yourself in 20 years?
In Myanmar serving my people

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.