Student Portrait

I am Henry. I was born in Mong Yawng Township, Shan State, Myanmar in 1996. I am the middle child in my family. My father is a farmer while my mother is a teacher.

I finished primary school in my village, then moved to Kyaing Tong to continue my education. In Kyaing Tong, I lived with my grandmother until I passed my matriculation exam in 2012. After finishing high school, I volunteered as a tutor for high school students at Shan Bordering House.

In 2013, I moved to Thailand to join the School for Shan State Nationalities Youth (SSSNY) in Chiang Mai. After graduating from SSSNY in 2014, I left for Mae Sot to continue my studies. I completed a General Education Diploma (GED) preparation program at Social Action for Children and Women (SAW) in 2016.

As soon as I earned my GED, I volunteered as a teacher at SAW school and a peer educator in the HIV and AIDS Program at MAP Foundation.

Later, I applied to Chiang Mai University to do a Bachelor of Arts in Social Science. I was accepted and began my first year at CMU in 2016. I volunteered that year as a news translator and online English teacher for high school students from SAW. During the semester break, I returned to my hometown to promote environmental awareness among the local people. In my second year at CMU, I participated in various activities. I am planning to finish the program in 2020.

After earning my bachelor degree, I will contribute to my country by joining Shan Sapawa Environmental Organization to promote environmental awareness in Myanmar. I will devote myself to protecting the environment since environmental hazards having been increasing in many parts of the country.

I hope to utilize my knowledge about environmental management and preservation to educate people in Myanmar. They need to be aware of environmental issues so that they avoid reckless cutting of trees, overconsumption of natural resources, and careless disposal of used plastic bags and bottles.

 About Henry

  • Age: 23
  • Ethnicity: Shan
  • Country: Myanmar

 School & Program

  • Chiang Mai University
  • Bachelor’s, Social Science
  • 4th Year in Program

Goals & Dreams

  • Become an environmentalist
  • Earn a master’s degree in environmental studies

 Loan Details

  • Loan Amount: $3,800
  • Amount Left To Fund: $3,750
  • Contract Duration: 11 years
  • Status: In School
$
$ Added to Basket

Quotable

What Others Are Saying About Henry

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.

I would like to provide environmental advocacy training in order to encourage people to participate in environmental protection. Furthermore, I would like to do comprehensive research on environmental issues in Myanmar such as deforestation, soil contamination, soil erosion, air pollution, water pollution, and landslides. In order to lobby the government effectively, I would like to get my research studies published with the help of my organization.

Finally, I hope to pursue a master’s degree in environmental studies with the ultimate goal of joining the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation in Myanmar. Upon returning to Myanmar, I would like to utilize my environmental expertise to implement systematic management of natural resources in our country.

Written by Henry with editing assistance from Zomia’s volunteer editors.

Henry

Henry

“I will devote myself to protecting the environment since environmental hazards having been increasing in many parts of the country.”

Q&A With Henry

Survey Fun

What is your favorite memory?
Passing my exams with high grades
How would your friends describe you?
Patient, friendly, nice, and helpful.
What is the one thing that isn’t taught in school but should be?
Research methodology
What is/was your favorite subject in school?
Environmental studies
What skill or ability do you most wish you had (but lack today)?
Playing piano
If you could do anything you wanted now, what would it be?
Reduce CO2 emission and stop air pollution
Where would you most like to travel?
Beach
What’s the best meal you’ve ever had?
Beef soup
Where do you see yourself in 20 years?
Environmental Protection Administration Agency

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.