Student Portrait

My name is Khine Mon. Born in Yangon, I am the youngest of two siblings. I have lived with my family in Yangon for my entire life. From the time I was born, my family has lived in the staff residences where only people who work in government offices can live.

For sure, I know that life isn’t only made up of fun and happy moments. I know that difficulties and challenges are also integral components of our lives. One of my biggest and most significant challenges was paying for my undergraduate tuition fees since my parents were not able to help me cover all my university expenses.

It was a difficult time for me. I had to walk a fine line between full-time studies and part-time work to have money to cover my expenses. There is no way to describe how triumphant and proud I felt at the beginning of each month, when I received my check and planned how I would spend my salary.

After passing five years this way and finally graduating, I accepted an internship at my teacher’s organization. Though I qualified for a master’s program, I decided to work first to earn money and support my family. Years passed, during which I consistently used my earnings to support my parents and sister.

In ten years of employment, I consistently evaluated myself and reviewed my life plans. Ultimately, I decided to pursue a master’s degree for my career development. Over several years, I repeatedly applied for scholarships to continue my education, but I was never able to secure enough scholarship funding to cover the costs.

Looking back, there is not a thing that I would change. Knowing that I had to work harder than everyone else allowed me to become the person I am today. Becoming a university scholar and pursuing a master’s degree before I turn 35 years old has long been one of my goals in life. In 2019, I received a partial scholarship from Mahidol University but could not join the program because I lacked have the necessary funding to get through the two-year program.

 About Khine Mon

  • Age: 34
  • Ethnicity: Burmese, Shan
  • Country: Myanmar

 School & Program

  • Mahidol University
  • Master’s, ASEAN Studies for Sustainable Development
  • 1st Year in Program

Goals & Dreams

  • Found an organization that can support development activities in Myanmar
  • Buy a home for my family

 Loan Details

  • Loan Amount: $4,425
  • Amount Left To Fund: $4,100
  • Contract Duration: 12 years
  • Status: In School
$
$ Added to Basket

Quotable

What Others Are Saying About Khine Mon

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.

Currently, I am planning to enroll in the Master of Arts program in ASEAN Studies for Sustainable Development at Mahidol University, which commences in August, 2020. The university has offered me a partial scholarship, although I will need a grant or other financial assistance to cover the remaining tuition fees and other expenses.

After earning my degree, I plan to return to Myanmar and serve my people and country using the knowledge and skills I gain from the program at Mahidol.

I am confident that Zomia will provide a wonderful opportunity for me to continue my studies and help me achieve a lifelong dream.

Written by Khine Mon with editing assistance from Zomia’s volunteer editors.

Khine Mon

Khine Mon

“While searching for a job amidst the COVID crisis has been a horrendous experience—nobody can prepare for the emotional rollercoaster of job loss amidst a market of job scarcity—ultimately it was the making of me. At the time I wasn’t conscious of how I was overcoming my adversity, but in hindsight I realize I followed a step-by-step process which helped me go from crisis to clarity.”

Q&A With Khine Mon

Survey Fun

What is your favorite memory?
Trip with my family when I was young
How would your friends describe you?
A good listener
What is the one thing that isn’t taught in school but should be?
Social Science
What is/was your favorite subject in school?
English
What skill or ability do you most wish you had (but lack today)?
Novel writing
If you could do anything you wanted now, what would it be?
Study abroad
Where would you most like to travel?
Beach
What’s the best meal you’ve ever had?
Steak
What’s your dream job?
To found an organization which can support development activities in Myanmar
Where do you see yourself in 20 years?
I will buy a home for my family.

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.