Student Portrait

My name is Kit Kit. I am from Bago, which is a two-hour drive from Yangon. I was born in Nga Pu Taw Town in Ayeyarwaddy Division. In the early years, my parents worked as school teachers in a village. When I was seven years old, my father started a small ice-cream production business. Due to his limited entrepreneurship skills and experience, he faced many challenges. We moved from one town to another to set up the business. Finally, we settled in Bago.

Actually, ice-cream production has been our family business dating back to 1997. My uncle has his own ice-cream production business as well. It was my uncle who first taught me how to start and grow a business. In the beginning, we struggled and encountered many unexpected risks and challenges. However, after several years passed, the business began to grow.

Academically, I passed my matriculation exam in 2005. I graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Religious Studies from Myanmar Institute of Theology (MIT) in 2009 and later earned a Bachelor of Science in Industrial Chemistry from Dagon University in 2012. After earning my first degree in 2009, I worked for nearly a year as a member of the administrative staff at Today Publication in Yangon.

After that, with encouragement and guidance from my family, I started my own business, a small fashion accessories store, with a small amount of investment. I have gained a lot of experience running this business. Two years later, I launched a second business, an online floral shop. We provide floral arrangement services to our customers.

At the same time, in order to upgrade my management skills and knowledge, I took diploma courses in Community Management and Business Management in 2010 and 2014.

 About Kit Kit

  • Age: 29
  • Ethnicity: Karen
  • Country: Myanmar

 School & Program

  • Payap University
  • Master’s, Business Administration
  • 1st Year in Program

Goals & Dreams

  • Become a successful entrepreneur
  • Become a teacher

 Loan Details

  • Loan Amount: $1,850
  • Amount Left To Fund: $1,850
  • Contract Duration: 10 years
  • Status: Partially Prefunded
$
$ Added to Basket

Quotable

What Others Are Saying About Kit Kit

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.

Because I am passionate about sharing my knowledge with others, I also taught at a Christian Institute situated in a remote area near the Thai-Myanmar border in Karen State. I was a visiting business lecturer at the school. My theoretical knowledge and practical experiences in business help me a great deal when I teach at the institute. Most of the students there are Karen who come from hilly regions, border areas, and refugee camps.

Currently, I am working on a Master of Business Administration at Payap University in Chiang Mai. I would like to improve myself by building upon my prior knowledge and experiences to become an expert in the business arena. I believe that I will be able to gain valuable knowledge and experience by studying in an international educational environment.

After my graduation, I will return to Myanmar to continue teaching at the Christian Institute on the Thai-Myanmar border to benefit my people and country. At the same time, I would like to grow my current businesses and make them more successful.

Moreover, I would like to open book shops, libraries, learning centers, and research centers across my hometown. I hope to create educational opportunities for younger generations so they will be better-prepared to serve their community in the future. I strongly believe that my educational background and work experience will help me achieve my goals.

Written by Kit Kit with editing assistance from Zomia’s volunteer editors.

Kit Kit

Kit Kit

“I would like to improve myself by building upon my prior knowledge and experiences to become an expert in the business arena.”

Q&A With Kit Kit

Survey Fun

What is your favorite memory?
Going to the beach with my family
How would your friends describe you?
Hardworking, optimistic, helpful, generous, and sweet
What is the one thing that isn’t taught in school but should be?
Basic first aid
What is/was your favorite subject in school?
Religious education for children
What skill or ability do you most wish you had (but lack today)?
Driving manual transmission cars
If you could do anything you wanted now, what would it be?
Open a library
Where would you most like to travel?
Greece
What’s the best meal you’ve ever had?
Beef soup

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.