Student Portrait

My name is Mainn. I was born in Nyaung Shwe, Southern Shan State, Myanmar. I am 19 years old and recently finished my first year at Mae Fah Luang University, where I am majoring in Tourism Management. I have only three family members: my mother, my younger sister, and me. My father passed away when I was eleven years old.

Before my father passed away, we had a tomato business. Later, my mother stopped trading tomatoes and opened a grocery store in front of our house. Unfortunately, it was not enough to support me and my younger sister’s education. My mother never gives up, however, no matter how difficult our life becomes. She has tried her best to support my sister and me. She wants us to become educated people and forge brighter futures. She is the kindest and most inspiring woman I have ever met.

In 2016, I passed my matriculation exam and earned my high school diploma. I dream of becoming a successful tour manager and helping others by contributing to the improvement of my hometown and country. Initially, I was unable to attend college because my mother did not have enough money to support my further education, so I began looking for jobs. I worked at a restaurant and earned some money.

One day, my mother and grandmother told me about my neighbor, who was going to graduate from Mae Fah Luang University (MFU) in Thailand. They encouraged me to study there. My mother withdrew some savings from the bank, enough to cover half of my expenses, and my grandmother was kind enough to cover the other half.

Thanks to my mother and grandmother, I was able to join the tourism management program at MFU. Sadly, my grandmother passed away when I was taking midterm exams. I became depressed and didn’t know how to continue my studies. Still, I didn’t want to give up on my education, so my mother asked her cousin for help. Her cousin supported me, allowing me to finish my first year.

 About Mainn

  • Age: 18
  • Ethnicity: Burmese
  • Country: Myanmar

 School & Program

  • Mae Fah Luang University
  • Bachelor’s, Tourism Management
  • 2nd Year in Program

Goals & Dreams

  • Become a successful tour operations manager
  • Support my family

 Loan Details

  • Loan Amount: $2,700
  • Amount Left To Fund: $1,200
  • Contract Duration: 11 years
  • Status: Prefunded by Vanderes
$
$ Added to Basket

Quotable

What Others Are Saying About Mainn

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.

My mom could not support me to continue my second year because my younger sister is now a matriculation student. My mom works very hard to support us, but it is not enough to support both of us at once.

There are many beautiful places in my hometown, Nyaung Shwe. Therefore, after graduating, I would like to attract people from all over the world to visit my hometown. I would like to become a successful tour operations manager and promote the tourism industry in my country. Last but not least, I would like to take care of my family and bring happiness to them.

Written by Mainn with editing assistance from Zomia’s volunteer editors.

Q&A With Mainn

Survey Fun

What is your favorite memory?
Going on a family trip before my father passed away
How would your friends describe you?
Friendly and soft-hearted
What is the one thing that isn’t taught in school but should be?
Learning from failure
What is/was your favorite subject in school?
Tour Business Operations and Professional Tour Guiding
What skill or ability do you most wish you had (but lack today)?
Fulfilling all my wishes
If you could do anything you wanted now, what would it be?
Be with my father
Where would you most like to travel?
Korea and USA
What’s the best meal you’ve ever had?
My mom’s cooking

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.