Student Portrait

My name is Mee Mee. I am 27 years old and belong to the Karen ethnic group. I have two brothers. After our parents’ divorce, we were raised by our single mother. My father remarried when I was 9 years old.

Due to my family’s financial situation, I struggled to stay in school. I went to a refugee camp to finish high school because they offer free education. After that, I served as a middle school teacher in the camp. Later, I decided to earn my bachelor’s degree.

I completed a bachelor’s degree in theology at Kawthoolei Karen Baptist Bible School and College, located in Mae La, Thailand. After graduating, I wanted to continue on to graduate study but couldn’t afford to do so. Thus, I served my community as an English and music teacher for beginning learners.

I chose to work in the refugee camp for a year-and-a-half and Suan Phung Village for another year-and-a-half.

While serving as a music teacher, I learned that music teachers are needed everywhere. It helped me discover my true passion and inspired me to continue my study of music. To my dismay, music scholarships are not widely available in Thailand.

As I have always believed that “where there’s a will, there’s a way”, I did not give up on achieving my goal to become a professional music teacher, something lacking in our country. I want to be a good music teacher who can provide students with musical knowledge and instrumental skills.

I began the journey to realize my dream by joining Payap Music College with limited financial resources. Thankfully, I received financial support from an individual donor during my first semester. Despite my limited Thai language skills, I’ve done my best to do well in school.

 About Mee Mee

  • Age: 27
  • Ethnicity: Karen
  • Country: Myanmar

 School & Program

  • Payap University
  • Bachelor’s, College of Music
  • 2nd Year in Program

Goals & Dreams

  • Become a music teacher

 Loan Details

  • Loan Amount: $1,950
  • Amount Left To Fund: $1,925
  • Contract Duration: 10 years
  • Status: In School
$
$ Added to Basket

Quotable

What Others Are Saying About Mee Mee

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.

After finishing my first semester, I had difficulty paying fees during my second semester. Fortunately, I received a partial scholarship from the university, but it was not enough to cover my tuition. As a result, my mother had to borrow money, which she is now repaying in monthly installments.

Later, I met with a friend who recommended that I apply for a Zomia loan. I am happy to hear there’s a program like Zomia to help students achieve their goals.

This program will benefit me greatly, allowing me to continue my studies and improve my skills. Personally, I do not want to continue relying upon my mother’s support, as she has very low earnings. If I am granted a Zomia loan, I feel like I’ll be supporting myself in achieving my goals.

After I graduate, I hope to empower people from underprivileged backgrounds by imparting my musical knowledge and instrumental skills. With your support, I believe I will be able to fulfill my dream.

Written by Mee Mee with editing assistance from Zomia’s volunteer editors.

Mee Mee

Mee Mee

“After I graduate, I would like to empower people from underprivileged backgrounds by imparting my musical knowledge and instrumental skills.”

Q&A With Mee Mee

Survey Fun

What is your favorite memory?
Being together with my family
How would your friends describe you?
Friendly
What is the one thing that isn’t taught in school but should be?
Good manners
What is/was your favorite subject in school?
A Path to Wisdom
What skill or ability do you most wish you had (but lack today)?
Advanced piano playing skills
Where would you most like to travel?
Beaches and mountains
What’s the best meal you’ve ever had?
Fried rice and soup
What’s your dream job?
Music teacher

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.