Student Portrait

My hometown is in a remote location in Myanmar called Kyangin Township, which is over 200 miles from Yangon, the country’s largest city. I was born in January 1989 during a time of military reign when student activists were fighting for democracy. Those were tragic times for the activists as well as those who stood with the 88 Generation students.

When I was ten, I completed primary school in my hometown. It was a rural area, so we did not have sufficient teachers or teaching facilities. Neither the students nor the teachers were given proper classrooms or latrines. After 6th grade, my thoughtful parents sent me to Yangon for better education. I stayed with my aunt’s family and attended middle and high school in Insein. After I passed the matriculation exam, I joined a Liberal Arts Program at Myanmar Institute of Theology.

During my third year in the program, I was assigned to serve as an intern to assist the Child Care and Development Facilitator at World Vision Myanmar, which is a non-governmental organization. My very first experience as a humanitarian worker gave me broader exposure to the livelihood of rural people.

After I completed my first degree in 2010, I worked as a part-time English teacher at a private school and simultaneously as an assistant teacher in a Liberal Arts Program. In 2013, I earned a degree specializing in Psychology by completing a distance education program in Yangon.

My passion was to be an effective teacher. Thus, I always tried to be ready to contribute my knowledge both in and outside the classroom. Over four years of teaching, I have gained invaluable professional experience and my concern for young learners has grown. In 2014, I worked as a Burmese language teacher at a Thai government school near the Thai-Burma border.

 About Mee Mee

  • Age: 29
  • Ethnicity: Karen
  • Country: Myanmar

 School & Program

  • Mahidol University
  • Master’s, Educational Management
  • 2nd Year in Program

Goals & Dreams

  • Develop other teachers in the country
  • Improve education for refugees

 Loan Details

  • Loan Amount: $4,050
  • Amount Left To Fund: $1,500
  • Contract Duration: 12 years
  • Status: Prefunded by Zomia
$
$ Added to Basket

Quotable

What Others Are Saying About Mee Mee

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.

Later, I was assigned to be a teacher training facilitator, where my responsibilities included conducting trainings for teachers in a refugee camp. It saddens me that I could do little for those people beyond contributing short-term training, which was a small part of their education. Throughout my life, I have seen Myanmar youth and other unfortunate people who cannot gain access to quality education. Because of this, I decided to equip myself as a technical expert who can advocate for disadvantaged people and create better education for them.

Recently, repatriation has become a big issue in the nine refugee camps on the Thai-Burma border. An uncertain future threatens the refugees’ current circumstances. Their fundamental needs such as accommodation, education, and healthcare need to be met before resettlement. Education plays one of the pivotal roles for sustainable development of the people. Although it is a drop in the ocean, I would like to take part in teachers’ capacity building, advocating teachers’ rights, and developing accredited education for the refugees before their return. I am confident that I will be a good pillar for the community if I earn my Master’s Degree in Educational Management.

Written by Mee Mee with editing assistance from Esra, one of Zomia’s volunteer editors.

Mee Mee

Mee Mee

“Although it is a drop in the ocean, I would like to take part in teachers’ capacity building, advocating teachers’ rights, and developing accredited education for the refugees before their return.”

Mee Mee

Mee Mee

“My passion for teaching has never stopped.”

Q&A With Mee Mee

Survey Fun

What is your favorite memory?
Family gathering in 2014
How would your friends describe you?
Friendly, helpful, sometimes an introvert, a good singer
What is the one thing that isn’t taught in school but should be?
Sex health education and extracurricular activities such as music and roleplay
What is/was your favorite subject in school?
Art
What skill or ability do you most wish you had (but lack today)?
Good leadership skills
If you could do anything you wanted now, what would it be?
Finish my thesis on time
Where would you most like to travel?
Snowy places
What’s the best meal you’ve ever had?
Hot pot
Where do you see yourself in 20 years?
An educational expert

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.