Student Portrait

My name is Moht Moht. I am 18 years old and from Myanmar. I passed the matriculation examination in Myanmar at the end of the 2017-2018 academic year, earning distinctions in Physics and Economics.

I then left for Mae Sot, where I joined the pre-GED program at Children’s Development Centre (CDC). After earning a certificate at CDC, I took the GED entrance exam for BEAM Education Foundation (BEAM) and was given a chance to study in Chiang Mai. I successfully finished my GED program at BEAM in 2020.

My parents are farmers so do not have a good income. I have two elder sisters, neither of whom has graduated from a university. I went to Mae Sot because I believed that education in Thailand would give me better skills and knowledge and help me prepare for the future.

After I passed the CDC entrance exam, my family was faced with a big financial challenge.

It was not easy for them to support me to travel to Thailand with a passport and student visa. Luckily, I earned a partial scholarship from CDC School, which covered my GED exam fee and living costs. My family covered my remaining expenses.

Life is full of challenges. A major challenge for me was getting sick when I joined the GED program at BEAM. I was a month late getting started because of difficulties obtaining a visa. After my visa was approved, I went to Chiang Mai with my mother. On my first day in Chiang Mai, I was diagnosed with dengue fever. My treatment cost a lot for my family because hospital fees in Chiang Mai are very expensive for foreigners like us. I stayed in the hospital for eight days.

After recovering, I had to return to Myanmar because of my passport. BEAM told me I could defer enrollment for a year and would not have to retake the entrance exam. I was disappointed and wanted to give up. However, I remembered the quote, “Don’t give up just because things are hard.” I rested for a month and returned to Thailand to start my educational journey at BEAM. It was financially difficult for my family, but they did their best to allow me to study that year.

 About Moht Moht

  • Age: 18
  • Ethnicity: Karen
  • Country: Myanmar

 School & Program

  • Rangsit University
  • Bachelor’s, International Political Economy & Development
  • 1st Year in Program

Goals & Dreams

  • Become a social worker
  • Travel to Austria

 Loan Details

  • Loan Amount: $2,525
  • Amount Left To Fund: $2,400
  • Contract Duration: 11 years
  • Status: In School
$
$ Added to Basket

Quotable

What Others Are Saying About Moht Moht

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.

Because I joined the program at BEAM two months later than my classmates, I missed a number of lessons and had to catch up. I worked hard to be the best in class and participated fully in all activities. At the end of the year, I achieved the highest GPA in the class.

While studying at BEAM, I also worked as a volunteer. I taught English at Wat Sai Moon, a Burmese Temple, on the weekends. My students spoke Thai but I barely know Thai, so we faced language barriers. Despite the challenges, I learned much from the experience and I am grateful for the opportunity to contribute to my community.

Currently, I am studying International Political Economy and Development at Rangsit University. My dream is to work as a social worker in a community organization to improve access to education among disadvantaged youth. As a grade-10 student, I experienced the education system of Myanmar. All you have to do is memorize things from textbooks!

Therefore, I hope to improve the education system of Myanmar by providing short internship programs for teachers so they can teach students to think and question rather than practice rote learning by using new teaching methodologies. Thus, I need to educate myself first. The financial support from Zomia will benefit not only me but also my community because I will be sharing my knowledge and experiences with them.

Written by Moht Moht with editing assistance from Zomia’s volunteer editors.

Moht Moht

Moht Moht

“In my free time, I relax by singing or watching movies. I do yoga every morning to clear my mind and prepare for the day ahead. Overall, I’m a person who loves seeing people smile.”

Q&A With Moht Moht

Survey Fun

What is your favorite memory?
My 17th birthday
How would your friends describe you?
Adorable
What is the one thing that isn’t taught in school but should be?
Brain food (how to be a strong person)
What is/was your favorite subject in school?
Science
What skill or ability do you most wish you had (but lack today)?
Dancing
If you could do anything you wanted now, what would it be?
Attending university
Where would you most like to travel?
Austria
What’s the best meal you’ve ever had?
Pizza
What’s your dream job?
Social worker
Where do you see yourself in 20 years?
I will give some to my family and donate some to my church and others.

You can also lend using the pink button atop every student profile.